Beauty in Filth

Oh how I feel incredibly blessed to be on this journey… And oh how badly I wish there was a secret camera following me around second by second to witness every-single-thing I am experiencing. I feel as though I am doing a disservice to you, my dear readers AND donators for not having the time to write out all the details of this trip. I am trying my best to highlight the moments that stand out so you feel just as part of this journey as possible.

Today I met with an organization in the middle of Gaziantep city to see first hand the work they are doing and what they are providing for the refugees that are in the surrounding neighborhoods. Then I traveled by bus from Gaziantep to Antakya (photo below of the amount of trash via littering that is going on in the most beautiful parts of this country; yes! I can’t stand that part. Humans MUST respect nature).

20130329-005915.jpg

Then driven by car from Antakya to Reyhanli (the border of Syria) and immediately met with another organization that is thoroughly familiar with going in and out of Syria. I asked many questions, specifically the current needs of the refugees and primarily in what areas, as well as the dangers and violence at risk when visiting those areas. The main coordinator explained in detailed the GREAT risks I would be taking primarily as an American and once he was done warning me, I asked with a smile on my face:

“When are we going in?”

Hours later, after having my second meal of the day, I met these lovely young refugee boys. I can’t express how elated I was to witness the amount of energy and love that was exuding in their eyes. How is that possible after having fled their homes? How is that possible when they live in the hall of a building with their families because they can’t afford paying rent? How is that possible when their lives have been flipped upside down?

We can learn an incredible, heart awakening lesson from these three.
ARE YOU LISTENING?

20130329-011417.jpg

